0Hotspot Snickometer Hawkeye DRS'N groeiende aantal slegte DRS besluite ...

so, die aangrypende 1st Astoets by Trent Bridge bly steeds opwindend en daar is nog geen duidelike wenner nie. Ek wil egter terugkyk na 'n potensieel belangrike oomblik van die spel - die 'not out' besluit wat aan die Australiese Agar gegee is. Laat my duidelik wees - daar kan geen fout op enige van die spelers of skeidsregters gelê word nie - slegs op die DRS-stelsel en die skeidsregter wat dit bestuur. Daar was verskeie verkeerde besluite in hierdie toetswedstryd en in die onlangse kampioenskapstrofee, Kom ons kyk na elkeen van hulle op sy beurt.

so, lets list the really poor decisions involving Eng­land so far this sum­mer, en dan gaan met elke beurt

1. Ashton Agar, giv­en not out when stumped (Eng­land vs Aus­tralia, eerste toets, Dag 2)

Agar was stumped by Matt Pri­or. The on-field umpire called for a 3ST umpire decision as it was too close to call. The pic­tures clearly showed the foot was ON the line. To be giv­en not out the foot must be behind the line. Whilst bene­fit of the doubt goes to the bats­man, there was no doubt that Agar did not have his foot behind the line. I find it utterly inex­plic­able that he was giv­en not out — I think the third umpire should explain what he saw and why he decided to give the decision not out.  A video is also avail­able on You­Tube, but sadly neither the video nor the fol­low­ing still image are in HD format.  If you know of an HD source please let us know.

Ashton Agar gestonk DRS

2. Jonathan Trott, giv­en out LBW after hit­ting the ball (Eng­land vs Aus­tralia, eerste toets, Dag 2)

Om eerlik na die derde skeidsregter wees, this decision was wrong due to a fail­ure of the DRS sys­tem. Trott was giv­en not out by the on-field umpire but the decision was ref­ered by the Aus­trali­ans. The third umpire gave Trott out as there was no hot-spot evid­ence that he had hit the ball. How­ever, the cru­cial side-on hot-spot cam­era view was not avail­able thanks to Sky using the cam­era to replay a pre­vi­ous ball. It is fair to say we’ll be writ­ing more about this dis­grace in the near future. The third umpire should have told the on-field umpire that he had could­n’t see all of the hot-spot pic­tures and the prop­er decision should have been to give the bats­man OR the on-field umpire the bene­fit of the doubt — in either case Trott would have remained not out.  dit moet outomaties gebruik word om alle redes na te gaan om uit of nie uit te wees nie. So selfs as 'n speler uitgegee word gevang 2 images below clearly show that the ball has moved to the right before hit­ting the pad, and there is a small mark on snicko­met­er from the impact with the bat in the first image (sien dit vol grootte om duidelik te sien).

Jonathan Trott Snickometer Hotspot mislukking Jonathan Trott Snickometer Hotspot mislukking

3. Stuart Broad, giv­en not out caught after edging the ball (Eng­land vs Aus­tralia, eerste toets, Day 3)

OK, this one isn’t a fault of the third umpire — it was a genu­ine mis­take by the on-field umpire which would doubt­less have been cor­rec­ted by the third umpire had it been reviewed. It was a very poor on-field decision but the umpire may have been con­fused by an almost imme­di­ate second deflec­tion off the edge of the wick­et keep­ers gloves. Aus­tralia were unable to review the decision as they had already wasted both of their reviews earli­er in the day. The Aus­trali­ans need to learn to use reviews prop­erly — the review sys­tem was intro­duced to chal­lenge “howl­ers” like this. Some pun­dits have also put for­ward the view the Broad should have walked — we’ll dis­cuss that anoth­er time.  A clear video of the incid­ent is avail­able on You­Tube.

4. Ian Bell, giv­en out stumped with his foot behind the line (Afr vs Indië, Cham­pi­ons Trophy final)

A cru­cial decision which most likely cost Eng­land vic­tory in the Cham­pi­ons Trophy final against India. Bell was giv­en out when the cam­er­as clearly showed his foot was behind the line and grounded.

Ian Bell, Gestonk deur Dhoni, finale Kampioene-trofee 2013

We’ll try to find high qual­ity images of each of the decisions so you can judge for yourself

Maak 'n opvolg-bydrae