0IHotspot Snickometer Hawkeye DRSInani elikhulayo lezigqibo ezibi ze-DRS…

Ngoko ke, enomdla 1st Uvavanyo loThuthu kwiTrent Bridge luyaqhubeka nokuba luyolo ngaphandle kokuphumelela ophumeleleyo ophumayo nangoku. Nangona kunjalo ndifuna ukujonga ngasemva kwixesha elinokwenzeka lomdlalo - isigqibo "sokungaphandle" esinikezwe iAustralia yeAustralia. Makhe ndicace-akukho mpazamo inokubekwa nakubani na wabadlali okanye kwimidlalo ye-ebaleni- kuphela kwinkqubo ye-DRS kunye nomphathi olawulayo. Kubekho izigqibo ezingalunganga kulo mdlalo wovavanyo nakwiklabhu yokuphumelela yabaphumeleleyo, Masitsho sijonge ngamnye kubo ngokulandelelana.

Ngoko ke, lets list the really poor decisions involving Eng­land so far this sum­mer, uze ukujongana bangegqithi

1. Ashton Agar, giv­en not out when stumped (Eng­land vs Aus­tralia, Uvavanyo lokuqala, Day 2)

Agar was stumped by Matt Pri­or. The on-field umpire called for a 3rd umpire decision as it was too close to call. The pic­tures clearly showed the foot was ON the line. To be giv­en not out the foot must be behind the line. Whilst bene­fit of the doubt goes to the bats­man, there was no doubt that Agar did not have his foot behind the line. I find it utterly inex­plic­able that he was giv­en not out — I think the third umpire should explain what he saw and why he decided to give the decision not out.  A video is also avail­able on You­Tube, but sadly neither the video nor the fol­low­ing still image are in HD format.  If you know of an HD source please let us know.

Ashton Agar angakunceda DRS

2. Jonathan Trott, giv­en out LBW after hit­ting the ball (Eng­land vs Aus­tralia, Uvavanyo lokuqala, Day 2)

Masivume ukuba ngusompempe wesithathu, this decision was wrong due to a fail­ure of the DRS sys­tem. Trott was giv­en not out by the on-field umpire but the decision was ref­ered by the Aus­trali­ans. The third umpire gave Trott out as there was no hot-spot evid­ence that he had hit the ball. How­ever, the cru­cial side-on hot-spot cam­era view was not avail­able thanks to Sky using the cam­era to replay a pre­vi­ous ball. It is fair to say we’ll be writ­ing more about this dis­grace in the near future. The third umpire should have told the on-field umpire that he had could­n’t see all of the hot-spot pic­tures and the prop­er decision should have been to give the bats­man OR the on-field umpire the bene­fit of the doubt — in either case Trott would have remained not out.  The 2 images below clearly show that the ball has moved to the right before hit­ting the pad, and there is a small mark on snicko­met­er from the impact with the bat in the first image (ukujonga ubungakanani ngokupheleleyo ukubona ngokucacileyo).

ukusilela Jonathan Trott Snickometer Hotspot ukusilela Jonathan Trott Snickometer Hotspot

3. Stuart Broad, giv­en not out caught after edging the ball (Eng­land vs Aus­tralia, Uvavanyo lokuqala, Day 3)

Kulungile, this one isn’t a fault of the third umpire — it was a genu­ine mis­take by the on-field umpire which would doubt­less have been cor­rec­ted by the third umpire had it been reviewed. It was a very poor on-field decision but the umpire may have been con­fused by an almost imme­di­ate second deflec­tion off the edge of the wick­et keep­ers gloves. Aus­tralia were unable to review the decision as they had already wasted both of their reviews earli­er in the day. The Aus­trali­ans need to learn to use reviews prop­erly — the review sys­tem was intro­duced to chal­lenge “howl­ers” like this. Some pun­dits have also put for­ward the view the Broad should have walked — we’ll dis­cuss that anoth­er time.  A clear video of the incid­ent is avail­able on You­Tube.

4. Ian Bell, giv­en out stumped with his foot behind the line (Eng vs India, Cham­pi­ons Trophy final)

A cru­cial decision which most likely cost Eng­land vic­tory in the Cham­pi­ons Trophy final against India. Bell was giv­en out when the cam­er­as clearly showed his foot was behind the line and grounded.

Ian Bell, Angakunceda yi Dhoni, Champions Trophy wokugqibela 2013

We’ll try to find high qual­ity images of each of the decisions so you can judge for yourself

Shiya iMpendulo