0الملعب الكمال انكلترا في حاجة الى اختبار أكثر صرامة

لذا فإن الاختبار الأول للصيف هو في نهايته. أحسنت إنكلترا من أجل الفوز لما كان في الحقيقة مباراة رجال ضد الأولاد.

سري لانكا هي, لاستخدام هذا كثيرا ما توصف الصوت لدغة, فريق في "مرحلة انتقالية" وصبي فعل ذلك. ويجب أن نتذكر, ومع ذلك, أنهم حافظوا على تشكيلة قوية من الضرب في إنجلترا حتى صبي تحت 300 علامة - ونصف هذه الأشواط جاءت من ممتاز جوني بايرستو. قام أليكس هالز بعمل جيد أيضًا بضربة جيدة ويجب أن يركل نفسه لأنه لم يحولها إلى طن. لو لم يكن لهذين أنه ربما كان أقرب المدى شيء. لن نعرف ابدا.

فبمجرد أن حصل أندرسون وبرود على الرصاصة الجلدية الحمراء في أيديهما ، كانت الكتابة على صفحة الويب. لم سريلانكا لا تقف فرصة. ومن كان يظن أن طرفي التبادل السريع يمكن أن يؤدي إلى مثل هذه النتائج الفورية! (Note sar­casm – surely they must have thought about try­ing such ‘black magic’ previously!!)

ولكن هناك نقطة أوسع هنا - فإن الحادي عشر العالم ناضل على هذا الملعب, في تلك الظروف, ضد هذين الرماة. هناك حجة قوية تقول أنه لم يكن هناك قط إقران أفضل من برود وأندرسون عندما تكون الأمور في صالحها. لن تستمر اللعبة لأكثر من ثلاثة أيام - وهذا ما يزعجني كمشجع للكريكيت. لقد غاب عن يومين من أفضل رياضة في العالم. My TV record­ing box which is set to record the high­lights on series link has instead been infes­ted with day-time TV rubbish.

إذا كنت منزعجًا قليلاً ، فماذا عن عدادات الفول في هيدلينجلي? يومين حيث, بدلاً من آلاف المكاييل من الخروف الأسود المر الذي يستهلكه المشجعون الصاخبون الذين يختبئون ثعبان البيرة من المضيفين الذين يكافحون باستمرار, المقاعد الفارغة. (هل رأى أحد بالمناسبة أول ثعبان صيفي? كان جمال مطلق). لا يتم تناول فطائر اللحم أو البرغر باهظ الثمن أيضًا. ومقاطعة البنغو ليست سوى ذكرى بعيدة. إن الحصول على أرضية لاختبار معيار المطابقة والإبقاء عليها هناك يكلف الكثير - الأموال التي يجب استردادها. ثلاثة أيام لن تساعد رصيد البنك كثيرًا!

ولا يقتصر الأمر على رجال ونساء المال فقط من ترك القليل من المال من جيوبهم. المشجعين يعانون أيضا. حسنًا ، أولئك الذين لديهم تذاكر لليوم الرابع والخامس يحصلون على استرداد لكن معظم الناس سيأخذون يوم إجازة من العمل, البعض قد حجز الفنادق أو قدم التزامات مالية أخرى. كل شيء جيد وجيد إذا كان لديك يوم كريكيت لمشاهدته - ولكن لا أحد يريد البقاء في ليدز ما لم يكن لديه سبب وجيه لذلك.

قد لا يكون من الأفضل إعداد عرض تقديمي يقدم بعض الشيء للجميع? مضمار ضرب لائق حيث إذا وضعت رأسك لأسفل وأظهرت أسلوبًا جيدًا ، فستحرز نقاطًا ولكن شيئًا ما يثير اهتمام الرامي أيضًا? ما هي عناوين هذه المباراة? يمكن لبرود وأندرسون أن يغطسوا بئر دموي - لا شراب شيرلوك. لا أحد يريد أن تصبح إنجلترا مثل الهند في موطنها القديم الرائع, صادم بعيدًا - ولكن إذا استمر الأولاد في الحصول على سطح مثل Headingley ، فهذا هو الخطر الذي نواجهه.

***

لقد أحسست بالذهول لسماع خبر وفاة المعلق العظيم TMS, ونستون أنتوني لويد "توني" كوزير. لقد جعلني ذوقه البربادوسي مستمتعًا بالعديد من الوقت وسيفتقدني بشدة - رجل حقيقي داخل وخارج الملعب. وداعا توني, شكرا على الجولة.

***

أحسنت صنع كريس ووكس عندما سدد 9 للاحتفال باستدعائه للمنتخب الإنجليزي. ما زلت مقتنعًا بأنه يستطيع اختراقها على أعلى مستوى وكما هو مقترح أعلاه ، حتى حقيبة مليئة بفروة الرأس ضد سريلانكا لن تؤثر علي كثيرًا. كما يسلط الضوء على ضعف في توازن الجانب الإنجليزي إذا لم يتواجد بن ستوكس. لكن أفضل ما في البريطانيين بالنسبة إلى السيد Woakes - فالأداء الجيد لن يؤدي إلا إلى تعزيز قضيته.

من فضلك أرسل لنا أفكارك بالتعليق أدناه! إذا كنت ترغب في الاشتراك يرجى استخدام الرابط الاشتراك في القائمة في اعلى اليمين. يمكنك أيضا مشاركة هذا مع أصدقائك باستخدام الروابط الاجتماعية أدناه. في صحتك.

اترك رد

0Pitch Perfect England Need a Sterner Test

So the first test of the sum­mer is at an end. Well done Eng­land for a vic­tory for what was really a match of men against boys.

Sri Lanka are, to use that oft touted sound-bite, a team in “trans­ition” and boy did it show. It must be remembered, how­ever, that they kept a strong Eng­land bat­ting line up to a tad under the 300 mark – and half of those runs came from the excel­lent Jonny Bair­stow. Alex Hales did well too with a decent knock and must be kick­ing him­self he didn’t con­vert it into a ton. Had it not been for those two it might have been a closer run thing. We will nev­er know.

For as soon as Ander­son and Broad got the red leath­er bul­let in their hands the writ­ing was on the webpage. Sri Lanka didn’t stand a chance. And who’d have guessed that the two quicks swap­ping ends could bring about such instant res­ults! (Note sar­casm – surely they must have thought about try­ing such ‘black magic’ pre­vi­ously!!)

But there’s a wider point here – a world XI would have struggled on that pitch, in those con­di­tions, against those two bowl­ers. There’s a strong argu­ment that says there’s nev­er been a bet­ter pair­ing than Broad and Ander­son when things are in there favour. The game was nev­er going to last more than three days – and that’s what annoys me as a fan of crick­et. I’ve missed out on two days of the best sport in the world. My TV record­ing box which is set to record the high­lights on series link has instead been infes­ted with day-time TV rub­bish.

If I’m a little peeved then what about the bean coun­ters at Headingley? Two days where, instead of thou­sands of pints of Black Sheep bit­ter being con­sumed by rauc­ous fans hid­ing a beer snake from the ever strug­gling stew­ards, the seats are empty. (Did any­one see the first snake of the sum­mer by the way? It was an abso­lute beauty). No pas­ties or over-priced bur­gers are get­ting eaten either. And Boy­cott Bingo is but a dis­tant memory. It costs a lot to get a ground to test-match stand­ard and to keep it there – money that needs to be recouped. Three days isn’t going to help the bank bal­ance much!

And it’s not just the money-men and women who are left a few quid out of pock­et. The fans suf­fer too. Ok those who had tick­ets for day four and five do get a refund but most people will have taken the day off work, some will have booked hotels or made oth­er fin­an­cial com­mit­ments. All well and good if you got a day’s crick­et to watch – but no one wants to stay in Leeds unless they have good reas­on to.

Might it not be a bet­ter idea to pre­pare a pitch that offers a bit for every­one? A decent bat­ting track where if you put your head down and show a good tech­nique you will score runs but some­thing to interest the bowl­er too? What are the head­lines from this match? Broad and Ander­son can bowl bloody well – no sh*t Sher­lock. No one wants Eng­land to become like India of old – bril­liant home, shock­ing away – but if the boys con­tin­ue to have a sur­face like Headingley then that’s the risk we run.

***

I was gut­ted to hear about the passing of the great TMS com­ment­at­or, Win­ston Anthony Lloyd “Tony” Cozi­er. His Bar­ba­di­an lilt kept me enter­tained many a time and he will be sorely missed – a true gent on and off the pitch. Cheerio Tony, thanks for the ride.

***

Well done Chris Woakes on tak­ing a 9-fer to mark get­ting called up to the Eng­land side. I’m still to be con­vinced that he can quite hack it at the highest level and as sug­ges­ted above even a bag full of scalps against Sri Lanka will sway me very little. It also high­lights a weak­ness in the bal­ance of the Eng­land side if Ben Stokes is unavail­able. But best of Brit­ish to Mr Woakes – a good per­form­ance can only strengthen his case.

Think we've missed something? Let us know by commenting below. If you would like to subscribe please use the subscribe link on the menu at the top right. You can also share this with your friends by using the social links below. Cheers.

Leave a Reply